
[Oct 12, 2026] RIBO-Level-1 Exam Dumps - Try Best RIBO-Level-1 Exam Questions - DumpExam
Verified RIBO-Level-1 exam dumps Q&As with Correct 216 Questions and Answers
NEW QUESTION # 121
Your insured's young son has just purchased an automobile and wants you to insure it in his father's name and show himself as an occasional driver. Which of the following steps should you take?
- A. Issue the policy as requested.
- B. Decline to issue the policy as the son is obviously the principal driver and registered owner.
- C. Place the policy with another insurer and rate the father as the principal driver.
- D. Advise the son to register the vehicle in his mother's name and rate it on her driving record.
Answer: B
Explanation:
This scenario addresses the unethical practice known as "fronting," which is a form of Misrepresentation and a violation of the RIBO Code of Conduct (Ontario Regulation 991). Under the Professionalism, Integrity, and Ethics competency, a broker's primary duty is to be "candid and honest" with insurers.
Insurance is based on the principle of Insurable Interest. The person who owns the vehicle and is its primary operator must be the one listed as the "Named Insured" on the OAP 1 Owner's Policy. By attempting to put the policy in the father's name to obtain a lower premium (Option A or C), the client is intentionally withholding material facts from the insurer. If the broker participates in this, they are committing professional misconduct and could face disciplinary action from RIBO, including the revocation of their license.
The RIBO Level 1 Blueprint stresses that a broker must act as a gatekeeper for the insurance system. Option B is the only ethical and professional response. The broker must explain to the client that the policy must reflect the reality of the risk: the son is the registered owner and principal driver. Failure to do so would allow the insurer to void the policyab initio(from the beginning) in the event of a claim, leaving the family with no coverage for a potentially million-dollar liability.
By refusing to facilitate "fronting," the broker protects the client from future claim denials and upholds the Integrity and Ethics of the profession. This highlights the Consulting and Advising role where the broker must educate the client on the legal requirements of the Insurance Act and the severe consequences of providing false information on an automobile application.
NEW QUESTION # 122
Who is protected by the "Standard Mortgage Clause" in a property insurance policy?
- A. The insured.
- B. The one who lends the money and the insurer of the property.
- C. The insurer of the property.
- D. The one who borrows the money.
Answer: B
Explanation:
The correct answer is B . In property insurance, the Standard Mortgage Clause is designed primarily to protect the mortgagee , meaning the lender that has a financial interest in the property. This clause gives the lender important protection even if the insured homeowner does something that might otherwise prejudice coverage, such as a breach of condition or misrepresentation by the owner. In practice, it creates a separate contractual protection in favor of the mortgagee.
Among the choices given, B is the best answer because it includes the one who lends the money , which is the core purpose of the clause. It also reflects that the clause sets out rights and obligations involving the insurer and the mortgagee, such as notice requirements and recovery/subrogation rights after payment. By contrast, A is incorrect because the borrower is not the party specially protected by this clause. C is incorrect because the insured already has protection under the policy generally; the Standard Mortgage Clause exists to protect the lender's distinct interest. D alone is incomplete because the clause is not mainly there for the insurer's benefit.
IBC consumer guidance states that lenders are protected under a Standard Mortgage Clause in the policy, which aligns directly with this answer
NEW QUESTION # 123
Which item is NOT covered under the Standard Equipment breakdown coverage?
- A. Boilers.
- B. Compressors.
- C. Office water coolers.
- D. Hot water tanks.
Answer: C
Explanation:
Equipment Breakdown Insurance (EBI), historically known as Boiler and Machinery insurance, is a specialized form of property coverage designed to protect against the "sudden and accidental" failure of pressure, mechanical, and electrical equipment. The RIBO Level 1 Blueprint requires brokers to distinguish between industrial/commercial "covered equipment" and standard "office or domestic appliances." Covered equipment typically includes Boilers (A), Hot water tanks (B), and Compressors (C) because these items operate under pressure or utilize significant mechanical/electrical energy that, upon failure, can cause extensive damage to the surrounding property (e.g., a boiler explosion). These are critical systems that are often excluded from standard "All-Risks" property policies and require this specific form to provide indemnity.
Office water coolers (D), however, are generally considered small "plug-in" appliances or domestic-style equipment. Most EBI forms specifically exclude small appliances, furniture, and office equipment that do not form a part of the building's primary mechanical or electrical infrastructure. While a water cooler might be covered for "fire" or "theft" under the main Commercial Property section, its internal mechanical breakdown is not the intended subject of an Equipment Breakdown policy.
Under the Consulting and Advising competency, a broker must help a business owner identify which critical systems require EBI. For a large office building, the loss of a HVAC compressor (C) is a major business interruption risk, whereas the failure of a water cooler is a minor maintenance issue. This technical knowledge ensures the broker correctly classifies the risk and recommends the appropriate sub-limits, fulfilling the Risk Identification and Assessment requirements of the competency profile.
NEW QUESTION # 124
An insurance policy with an annual premium of $1,200 is cancelled by the insured exactly 6 months into the term. The insurer's "Short Rate Table" indicates that for a 6-month cancellation, the insurer is entitled to keep
60% of the annual premium as an administrative and earned cost. How much of a refund will the insured receive?
- A. $600.
- B. $720.
- C. $480.
- D. $500.
Answer: C
Explanation:
This question requires the application of Critical and Analytical Thinking to a financial transaction. The RIBO Level 1 Blueprint expects brokers to understand the difference between Pro-rata and Short-rate cancellations, as this directly affects the client's "indemnity" and financial outcome.
Under Statutory Conditions (and general contract law), when an insured requests a cancellation mid-term, the insurer is permitted to use a "Short Rate" calculation. This calculation allows the insurer to retain more than just the daily proportion of the premium to cover the fixed costs of issuing and servicing the policy.
In this scenario:
* Total Premium: $1,200.
* Insurer's Retention (60%): $1,200 x 0.60 = **$720**.
* Refund Amount: Total Premium ($1,200) - Earned Premium ($720) = $480.
If this had been a Pro-rata cancellation (e.g., if theinsurerhad cancelled), the refund would have been exactly
50% ($600). The Short-rate penalty in this case cost the client an additional $120.
A broker's duty in Consulting and Advising is to warn the client of this "Short Rate" penalty before they sign the cancellation request. This is part of the Fair Treatment of Consumers-ensuring the client knows that moving their insurance purely for a small price saving might actually result in a net loss once the cancellation penalty is applied. This mathematical proficiency is a core requirement of the Information Management competency, ensuring that all financial figures provided to the client are accurate and compliant with the insurer's filed rating rules.
NEW QUESTION # 125
Ali has an automobile and property policy with the same insurer. He just purchased a camper trailer that will be driven to and parked at a park next to a lake during the summer season. Where would coverage for the trailer be found?
- A. Both the automobile and property policies provide certain coverages for the trailer.
- B. Neither, trailer policies should be set up on their own policy form.
- C. Only the property policy so the contents inside the trailer can be insured.
- D. Only the automobile policy since comprehensive coverage includes the peril of stranding and sinking.
Answer: A
Explanation:
The correct answer is C because a camper trailer can attract different types of coverage under both the automobile policy and the property policy , depending on what is being insured and the circumstances of loss.
Under the Ontario OAP 1 , a trailer can be an insured automobile exposure. The policy states that a described automobile is any automobile or trailer specifically shown on the Certificate of Automobile Insurance . It also says that owned trailers not separately described may still receive certain auto coverage when used in connection with an automobile covered by the policy . In addition, the OAP 1's DCPD section expressly covers damage to certain trailers not shown on the Certificate , along with their equipment and contents, when another driver is legally responsible.
At the same time, property insurance can also respond to exposures connected with a seasonal or secondary- use trailer setting, especially for contents/personal property and related property-type risks. IBC's home coverage guide notes that seasonal or secondary locations may be insured on an existing property policy or separate property policy, and it emphasizes that certain contents and related exposures may be covered there as well.
So A and B are too narrow, and D is too absolute. The best answer is both policies may provide certain coverages .
NEW QUESTION # 126
Your client's homeowners policy cancelled due to non payment on Aug 1st. On Aug 15th they are served a statement of claim pertaining to a slip and fall which occurred at their home while their policy was in force.
What would happen next?
- A. The policy would respond only if underwriting agrees to reinstate.
- B. The policy would respond only if the client pays the outstanding premium.
- C. Nothing, the policy is no longer in force.
- D. The policy would respond.
Answer: D
Explanation:
The correct answer is B. because liability coverage under a homeowner's policy generally responds based on when occurrence happened , not when the lawsuit is served. In this question, the slip and fall occurred while the policy was still in force , even though the insured was not served with the statement of claim until after the policy had been cancelled for non-payment.
That timing matters. A cancellation on August 1st stops coverage for new occurrences happening after that date , but it does not erase coverage for a covered liability event that already took place during the active policy period. Since the alleged bodily injury happened while the policy was in force, the insurer would normally still have a duty to investigate and, if coverage applies, defend and respond to the claim according to the terms of the policy.
A). is incorrect because the date the claim is served is not the key trigger for a standard homeowner liability loss. C. is wrong because payment of overdue premium after cancellation is not what determines whether a past covered occurrence is insured. D. is also incorrect because reinstatement is relevant to future continuity of coverage, not to an occurrence that already happened during the original policy term.
From a RIBO perspective, this tests the broker's understanding of occurrence-based liability coverage and basic claims reporting principles.
NEW QUESTION # 127
When the Ontario Policy Change Form (OPCF. 43 is purchased, the insurer waives the application of depreciation for the repair or total loss of the insured vehicle. What does this endorsement NOT apply to?
- A. Tires and batteries.
- B. Newer vehicles that have less than 5,000 km.
- C. Sound system within the vehicle.
- D. Vehicle locks, locksmith, and lockout assistance.
Answer: A
Explanation:
The correct answer is B. Tires and batteries. The OPCF 43 - Waiver of Depreciation changes the usual claim settlement basis under the OAP 1 by allowing settlement without deduction for depreciation, subject to its conditions and time limits. In other words, instead of settling a covered loss on an actual cash value (ACV.
basis, the endorsement allows a replacement-cost style settlement for a qualifying new vehicle.
However, the endorsement does not apply to everything. The uploaded Ontario endorsement reference specifically states: "The OPCF 43 does NOT apply to tires, batteries, or betterment of the automobile resulting from repairing or replacing parts for prior unrepaired damage." That wording directly matches option B , making it the correct answer.
Why the others are wrong: A is not an exclusion; being new or a low-kilometre demo vehicle is part of the type of vehicle that may qualify for the endorsement, subject to insurer rules. C and D are not the standard exclusion stated in the endorsement explanation provided. From a RIBO exam perspective, this question tests knowledge of Ontario auto endorsements , especially the fact that OPCF 43 improves settlement treatment for qualifying vehicles but still contains specific exclusions and limitations that brokers must explain clearly to clients.
NEW QUESTION # 128
Directly or indirectly, making an agreement as to the premium to be paid other than as set forth in the policy is considered "misconduct" under the RIB Act. Which action is NOT considered a "misconduct"?
- A. Allowing a refund to the client not authorized by the policy.
- B. Allowing a dividend or bonus as provided for in the policy.
- C. Paying the cost of a family's vacation in Florida in return for them agreeing to purchase their insurance from you.
- D. Giving a rebate to a policyholder of the whole or part of the premium.
Answer: B
Explanation:
The Legal and Regulatory Compliance competency requires a precise understanding of the definition of Misconduct as outlined in Ontario Regulation 991, Section 15 of the RIB Act. The core principle here is that the premium for an insurance policy is a fixed contractual and actuarial amount filed with and approved by the regulator (FSRA). Any attempt to alter this amount "behind the scenes" is strictly prohibited.
Rebating (Option B) and inducing (Option C) are two of the most serious forms of misconduct. A broker cannot "buy" business by giving a portion of their commission back to the client or by providing expensive gifts like vacations. This preserves a fair marketplace and ensures that brokers compete on service and expertise rather than on "kickbacks." Similarly, unauthorized refunds (Option A) violate the integrity of the insurer-broker agreement.
However, Option D is not misconduct because dividends or bonuses that are expressly provided for in the policy (common with mutual insurance companies or specific profit-sharing commercial programs) are part of the original, legally filed contract. Since these payments are sanctioned by the policy wording itself, they do not constitute an "unauthorized" agreement. The RIBO Level 1 Blueprint stresses that brokers must be able to identify these unethical practices during Consulting and Advising. Maintaining the "set premium" ensures transparency for the consumer and financial stability for the insurer. Understanding these rules is essential for demonstrating the Integrity and Ethics required to hold a RIBO license and for avoiding disciplinary action.
NEW QUESTION # 129
Your insured has Comprehensive coverage on O.A.P. 1 Owner's Policy and informs you that they will be taking the car by ferry from Yarmouth, Nova Scotia to Bar Harbour, Maine. The insured asks if the policy would cover the loss of the automobile if the ferry sank in a storm. What do you tell them?
- A. There would be no coverage unless a special Ferry Rider was added.
- B. Stranding or sinking while the automobile is being transported on water is only covered for Specified Perils, not Comprehensive.
- C. The Comprehensive coverage would pay.
- D. There would be no coverage as the ferry was not operating solely between Canadian ports.
Answer: C
Explanation:
This question tests the broker's understanding of the "Loss or Damage" section of the Ontario Automobile Policy (OAP 1). Under Section 7, Comprehensive coverage is an "all-risks" type of protection that covers any loss or damage to the vehicle that is not specifically excluded.
According to the RIBO Level 1 Blueprint, a broker must know the territorial limits and specific peril inclusions of the OAP 1. Section 7.2.2 explicitly states that loss or damage caused by the stranding, sinking, burning, derailment, or collision of any conveyance in or upon which the automobile is being transported on land or water is covered. This means that if a vehicle is on a ferry, train, or transport truck, it is protected against the sinking or crashing of that transport method.
Furthermore, the OAP 1's Territorial Limits include Canada, the United States of America, and "upon a vessel between ports of those countries." Since the ferry is traveling between Nova Scotia (Canada) and Maine (USA), the vehicle remains within the covered territory. There is no requirement for a "Ferry Rider" or for the ports to be exclusively Canadian.
During Consulting and Advising, a broker should reassure the client that their Comprehensive coverage is robust enough to handle such maritime risks. This technical knowledge is vital for Risk Identification and Assessment, ensuring the broker can accurately confirm coverage for clients planning international or inter- provincial travel. Understanding these "hidden" inclusions within the standard policy wording is a hallmark of a professional broker who has mastered the technical details of the OAP 1.
NEW QUESTION # 130
A brokerage's trust account must be used for which of the following purposes?
- A. Paying the monthly rent and utility bills for the brokerage office.
- B. Providing short-term loans to employees who are experiencing financial hardship.
- C. Holding premiums collected from clients until they are remitted to the respective insurance companies.
- D. Depositing all commissions earned by the brokerage before they are moved to the general account.
Answer: C
Explanation:
The management of a Trust Account is one of the most strictly regulated activities under the Registered Insurance Brokers Act (RIB Act) and Ontario Regulation 991. In the Legal and Regulatory Compliance competency, a Level 1 broker must understand the legal distinction between "trust money" and "operating money." Trust money consists of premiums paid by clients that are intended for the insurance companies. Because the broker acts as a fiduciary, they do not "own" this money; they hold it in trust. The law requires that these funds be kept in a separate account, clearly labeled as a Trust Account, at a recognized financial institution.
The primary purpose (Option B) is to ensure that the money is always available to pay the insurers, protecting the consumer's coverage.
Any use of trust funds for business operations (Option C), personal loans (Option D), or even the premature withdrawal of commissions (Option A) is considered a severe form of professional misconduct and a breach of the RIBO Code of Conduct. Even if the money is replaced later, the act of "commingling" funds can lead to the immediate suspension or revocation of the brokerage's and the Principal Broker's licenses. The RIBO Level 1 Blueprint stresses that while a Level 1 broker may not manage the account directly, they must understand these rules to ensure they handle client checks and payments with the appropriate level of care.
Maintaining a "solvent" trust account is a fundamental requirement for the financial integrity of the brokerage and the protection of the public interest in the insurance transaction.
NEW QUESTION # 131
Under a standard Mortgage Clause, what happens if the insured intentionally sets fire to their home?
- A. The insurer will deny the claim to the insured, but will pay the mortgagee's interest in the property.
- B. The insurer is required to pay both parties because the mortgage was in good standing.
- C. The insurer will pay the claim to the insured, but recover the funds from the mortgagee later.
- D. The insurer will deny the claim to both the insured and the mortgagee.
Answer: A
Explanation:
This question explores the Mortgage Clause, a critical component of property insurance designed to protect the financial interest of lenders (mortgagees). In the RIBO Level 1 Blueprint, a broker must understand how this clause creates a separate contract between the insurer and the mortgagee, independent of the insured's actions.
Under standard policy conditions, an intentional act (like arson) by the named insured would void the entire policy. However, the Mortgage Clause contains a "non-waiver" provision. It states that the insurance for the mortgagee shall not be invalidated by any act or neglect of the mortgagor (the insured). Even if the insured commits a criminal act like arson, the insurer is still obligated to pay the mortgagee up to their insurable interest (the remaining mortgage balance), provided the mortgagee was unaware of the fraud. This ensures that the lender's collateral is protected regardless of the borrower's behavior.
As part of Consulting and Advising, a broker must explain that if the insurer pays the mortgagee under these circumstances, they "step into the shoes" of the lender through Subrogation. The insurer then has the right to pursue the insured to recover the money paid to the bank. The RIBO Competency Profile highlights that brokers must be able to identify and protect the interests of all stakeholders, including third-party lenders.
This knowledge is essential for managing Relationship Management with financial institutions and ensuring the client understands that while the bank is protected, they remain legally and financially liable for their own misconduct. This technical distinction reinforces the broker's role as a knowledgeable professional who can navigate complex contractual layers to ensure financial stability for all parties involved in a property transaction.
NEW QUESTION # 132
Whose responsibility is it to insure the condominium's building and its common elements?
- A. The condominium corporation.
- B. The developer.
- C. The individual unit owner.
- D. The municipality that the condo is located in.
Answer: A
Explanation:
The insurance of a condominium complex is a "split" responsibility between two distinct legal entities.
According to the Condominium Act of Ontario and the RIBO Level 1 Blueprint, the Condominium Corporation (Option C) is legally mandated to maintain insurance for the building as originally constructed and all "common elements" (hallways, elevators, pools, exterior walls, and roofs).
The premiums for this "Master Policy" are paid through the monthly condo fees collected from the unit owners. As an entry-level broker, you must understand this structure to provide accurate Consulting and Advising. The individual unit owner (Option A) is responsible for their own "Condominium Unit Owner's Policy," which covers:
* Personal Property (Contents).
* Additional Living Expenses (ALE).
* Personal Liability.
* Improvements and Betterments: Any upgrades made to the unit after its original construction (e.g., hardwood floors instead of standard carpet).
* Loss Assessment: Protection if the Corporation's policy is insufficient or has a massive deductible.
The RIBO Competency Profile emphasizes that the broker must review the Corporation's "Standard Unit By- law" to determine where the Master Policy ends and the unit owner's policy begins. Failing to explain this can lead to "gap in coverage" errors. For example, if a fire destroys the whole building, the Corporation's policy rebuilds the shell, but the unit owner's policy pays for the furniture and the fancy granite countertops the owner installed. This technical precision is vital for the Risk Identification and Assessment of condo owners, ensuring they are not left financially exposed for elements they incorrectly assumed the "Condo Board" would cover.
NEW QUESTION # 133
What is the mandate of the Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR.?
- A. To regulate the insurers' coverage and premiums in Ontario for the fair treatment of consumers.
- B. To regulate and promote the fair treatment of the Canadian consumer.
- C. To facilitate and promote an efficient and effective insurance regulatory system in Canada to serve the public interest.
- D. To facilitate public knowledge of the Ontario Auto and Homeowners Policies.
Answer: C
Explanation:
The correct answer is D . CCIR's official published mandate is to facilitate and promote an efficient and effective insurance regulatory system in Canada to serve the public interest . That wording appears directly on CCIR's official website and in its published FAQ material.
This makes A incorrect because CCIR is not a public education body focused specifically on Ontario auto and homeowners policies. B is incorrect because CCIR does not directly regulate insurer coverage and premiums in Ontario; those matters are dealt with through provincial and territorial regulators and legal frameworks, such as FSRA in Ontario. C is also not the best answer because, while fair treatment of consumers is an important regulatory objective, that is not the formal wording of CCIR's mandate. CCIR's more recent strategic plan describes the organization as a forum for Canadian insurance regulators that works to strengthen regulatory oversight, but the exam-style question is asking for the specific mandate statement, which matches D exactly.
From a RIBO study perspective, the takeaway is that CCIR is a national coordinating body for insurance regulators , not a single-jurisdiction regulator. Its role is to support regulatory consistency, collaboration, and public-interest oversight across Canada.
NEW QUESTION # 134
Under the Uninsured Automobile Coverage, who is covered for bodily injury or death?
- A. A dependent of the insured who is a passenger of a vehicle that is hit by an unidentified automobile and has their own insurance.
- B. Insured's spouse walking on the sidewalk who gets hit by an unidentified vehicle.
- C. Director of a corporation who is injured driving an undescribed vehicle.
- D. A pedestrian on the sidewalk who gets hit by an identified vehicle.
Answer: B
Explanation:
The correct answer is A . Under the OAP 1 Uninsured Automobile Coverage , insured persons for bodily injury or death include you, your spouse, and any dependent relative when they are not in an automobile, streetcar, or railway vehicle and are hit by an unidentified or uninsured automobile . That wording directly matches a spouse who is walking on the sidewalk and is struck by an unidentified vehicle.
B is incorrect because the question is about Uninsured Automobile Coverage . A pedestrian struck by an identified vehicle is not automatically covered under this section unless the vehicle is uninsured . The option does not say that. C is incorrect because for a corporate insured, coverage can extend to a director, officer, employee, or partner for whose regular use the described automobile is provided, but there is an important note: if that person or their spouse owns an insured automobile, this policy does not apply; their own policy responds . Also, simply being injured while driving an undescribed vehicle does not fit the basic wording given here.
D is incorrect because the OAP 1 specifically says a dependent relative who owns an insured automobile is not covered under this section. This question tests precise understanding of who qualifies as an insured person under Ontario's uninsured/unidentified automobile wording.
NEW QUESTION # 135
The "Pair and Set" clause in a Property insurance policy states which of the following?
- A. The insurer will not pay for loss of a pair of precious stones unless they are properly set in the amount containing them.
- B. The insurer will only pay one-half of the insurance if one of a pair is destroyed or damaged.
- C. Settlement of a loss with respect to an article which is part of a set, shall be based upon the basis that the entire set has been destroyed or damaged.
- D. Settlement of a loss with respect of an article which is part of a set, shall be based upon a reasonable proportion of the value of the set, but not the entire set.
Answer: D
Explanation:
The Pair and Set Clause is a standard provision in property insurance wordings designed to uphold the Principle of Indemnity. Indemnity ensures that an insured is returned to their pre-loss financial position, but not in a way that allows them to profit from the loss.
The clause explicitly addresses items that derive their value from being part of a matched pair (e.g., earrings) or a larger set (e.g., a set of silver cutlery). It states that the loss of one item in a pair or set does not constitute a "total loss" of the entire pair or set. Instead, the insurer will pay for a reasonable and fair proportion of the total value. For example, if one earring is lost from a $2,000 pair, the insurer will not automatically pay
$2,000; they will assess the value of the remaining earring and pay the difference.
The RIBO Level 1 Blueprint expects brokers to explain this clause during Claims Services to manage client expectations. Many clients mistakenly believe (Option C) that the loss of one part entitles them to the replacement of the whole. A broker's technical Insurance Product Knowledge allows them to clarify that the policy only covers the actual "economic loss" sustained. This prevents disputes and ensures the broker is providing Consulting and Advising that is consistent with the standard policy wordings found in the Habitational and Commercial forms. Understanding this clause is also vital for Risk Assessment, as a broker might recommend a "Valued Contract" or specific floaters for high-value items where the "Pair and Set" limitation might be undesirable for the client.
NEW QUESTION # 136
What amounts must be established when there is a co-insurance clause in a replacement cost policy?
- A. The actual cash value of the property.
- B. The replacement cost of the property.
- C. The original cost of the property.
- D. The amount which could be obtained for the property in a sale.
Answer: B
Explanation:
The correct answer is B . When a property policy is written on a replacement cost basis and contains a co- insurance clause , the key amount that must be established is the replacement cost of the property . That is because co-insurance compares the amount of insurance carried to the required percentage of the full replacement value . If the insured amount is too low compared with that required replacement value, a co- insurance penalty may apply at the time of loss.
This is why actual cash value , market value , and original cost are not the right measures for this question.
Actual cash value reflects depreciation and is used in a different valuation approach. Sale value or market value depends on real estate conditions and land value, which are not the basis for replacement cost insurance.
Original cost is also irrelevant because construction costs change over time and may be very different from what the property would cost to rebuild today.
From a RIBO perspective, this question tests the difference between valuation basis and insurance-to-value requirements . For replacement cost coverage, the broker must help ensure the building is insured to an appropriate current rebuilding value , since that is the figure used for co-insurance calculations and proper loss settlement.
Thought for 4s
NEW QUESTION # 137
What is a possible affect of a "Co-insurance Clause" on the settlement of a loss?
- A. It may affect the insured's personal liability coverages.
- B. It may decrease the amount to be paid by the insurer.
- C. It may affect the third party in a liability claim.
- D. It may increase the amount to be paid by the insurer.
Answer: B
Explanation:
The Co-insurance Clause is a fundamental concept in commercial property insurance, testing the broker's Critical and Analytical Thinking. Its purpose is to ensure that the insured carries an amount of insurance that is a fair reflection of the property's total value (usually 80%, 90%, or 100%).
If the insured chooses to underinsure their property to save on premium, the co-insurance clause acts as a penalty mechanism during a partial loss. The insurer will only pay a portion of the loss based on the ratio of
"what was carried" versus "what should have been carried." Consequently, the most common affect of this clause is that it may decrease the amount paid by the insurer (Option C), leaving the insured to pay the remainder out-of-pocket as a "co-insurer." The RIBO Level 1 Blueprint requires brokers to perform the "Did/Should" calculation to illustrate this risk to clients during Consulting and Advising. A broker who fails to explain co-insurance risk is at high risk for an Errors and Omissions (E&O) claim. By ensuring the client understands that the "limit" isn't the only factor in a settlement, the broker demonstrates the Professionalism and Integrity required to manage complex commercial accounts. This clause encourages "insurance to value," which maintains the stability of the insurance pool. Identifying and explaining this potential reduction in indemnity is a core requirement of the Risk Assessment and Classification competency, ensuring the client is aware of their financial exposure before a loss occurs.
NEW QUESTION # 138
A Broker is reviewing coverage options for a new client. Company X offers a higher commission rate but the coverage has more exclusions. Company Y offers a lower commission but provides the comprehensive coverage the client needs. What is the Broker's ethical obligation?
- A. Recommend Company Y because the broker must act in the best interest of the client regardless of commission.
- B. Sell Company X but offer the client a discount on the broker's fee.
- C. Recommend Company X and simply explain the exclusions to the client.
- D. Split the business between both companies to average out the commission.
Answer: A
Explanation:
This question explores the Conflict of Interest provisions within the Professionalism, Integrity, and Ethics competency. Under Ontario Regulation 991, Section 14 (Code of Conduct), a broker has a primary fiduciary duty to their client. This means the client's best interest must always take precedence over the broker's financial gain.
The RIBO Level 1 Blueprint requires brokers to be "candid and honest" when advising. Recommending a policy with more exclusions (Company X) solely because it pays a higher commission (Option A) is a breach of the Code of Conduct and constitutes professional misconduct. The broker's "competence" is measured by their ability to provide "suitability of advice"-matching the product to the client's actual risk profile (Option B).
Furthermore, "rebating" or splitting fees (Option C) is generally prohibited as misconduct. The RIBO Competency Profile emphasizes that trust is the foundation of the Broker-Client Relationship. A broker who prioritizes their commission over the client's protection is vulnerable to an Errors and Omissions (E&O) claim and disciplinary action. By choosing the better product for the client despite the lower pay, the broker demonstrates the Integrity required to maintain a license. This scenario reinforces the broker's role as an independent advisor who provides "unbiased" guidance, ensuring the consumer is treated fairly in accordance with the Principles of Conduct for Insurance Intermediaries.
NEW QUESTION # 139
A building worth $100,000 is insured for $60,000 under a policy with a 90% co-insurance clause. Fire damages the building to the extent of $45,000. How much does the insurer pay?
- A. $45,000
- B. $60,000
- C. $30,000
- D. $36,000
Answer: C
Explanation:
The correct answer is D. $30,000 .
A co-insurance clause requires the insured to carry insurance equal to a stated percentage of the property's value. If the insured carries less than that amount, a penalty applies at claim time.
Here, the building value is $100,000 and the co-insurance requirement is 90% . So the amount of insurance that should have been carried is:
$100,000 × 90% = $90,000
But the insured only carried $60,000 . That means the insured did not meet the co-insurance requirement. The loss payment is calculated using the standard formula:
Insurance carried ÷ Insurance required × Loss
$60,000 ÷ $90,000 × $45,000 = $30,000
So the insurer pays $30,000 , assuming no deductible is mentioned.
Why the others are wrong: A. is the policy limit, not the amount payable. B. would only be paid if the insured had met the co-insurance requirement. C. does not match the correct calculation.
From a RIBO perspective, this is a basic commercial property calculation and a very important broker concept. Brokers must explain that co-insurance exists to encourage proper insurance-to-value. If a client underinsures, they effectively become a co-insurer for part of the loss themselves.
NEW QUESTION # 140
The insurance industry uses specific definitions to describe different perils under Crime coverages. What would be considered a Burglary loss?
- A. A group of violent people entered your insured's store, terrified the clerks on duty and carried away several items of stock and all the cash in the cash register.
- B. An employee stole funds from the cash register while making change for a customer.
- C. A customer entered your insured's store and secretly carried off several items of merchandise without paying for them.
- D. A criminal hid in your insured's store until the store closed in the evening. They then stole several valuable items of stock and took all of the change left in the cash register. They then forced the rear door and escaped.
Answer: D
Explanation:
This question tests the technical Insurance Product Knowledge regarding the "Crime" section of commercial and habitational policies. In insurance terms, Burglary (often referred to in Canadian law as "Break and Enter") has a very specific definition that distinguishes it from Theft and Robbery. To qualify as a burglary, there must be evidence of unlawful entry or exit of the premises, typically accompanied by visible marks of force.
* Option A is Theft (specifically shoplifting), as there was no forced entry or violence.
* Option B is Robbery, because it involves the use of force or the threat of violence against a person.
* Option D is Fidelity/Employee Dishonesty, which is a separate class of crime coverage.
Option C is the classic insurance definition of a "burglary by breaking out." While the criminal entered legally during business hours, their presence became unlawful once they hid past closing. The act of "forcing the rear door" to escape provides the necessary "visible marks of force" at the point of exit required by many policy wordings.
The RIBO Level 1 Blueprint emphasizes that brokers must be able to explain these distinctions to clients during Risk Identification and Assessment. A client may think "Theft" coverage covers everything, but many commercial policies have separate sub-limits or requirements for Burglary vs. Robbery. Understanding these definitions ensures the broker recommends the correct Crime Endorsements and helps the client understand the "Conditions" of their coverage (e.g., the requirement for a monitored alarm or deadbolts). This technical precision is essential for avoiding Errors and Omissions (E&O) claims during the claims settlement process.
NEW QUESTION # 141
How would a broker apply the concept of risk analysis in commercial insurance?
- A. By applying higher deductibles for higher risks such as water damage.
- B. Setting out maximum payout limits in a policy term using the aggregate limit option.
- C. Through evaluating the physical and operational factors impacting the business.
- D. By excluding certain risks from the policy coverage.
Answer: C
Explanation:
The correct answer is A . In commercial insurance, risk analysis means examining the client's business to understand the nature, source, and extent of its exposures before recommending coverage. A broker applies this by reviewing the business's physical characteristics and operational activities . That includes factors such as the type of premises, construction, occupancy, protection, housekeeping, fire protection, security, equipment, processes, contractual obligations, customer traffic, products sold, and any special hazards. This is the foundation of proper commercial underwriting and placement.
This aligns with RIBO's needs-based advisory role. A broker must first identify and assess the client's risks before deciding which policy forms, limits, endorsements, deductibles, and markets are appropriate. In other words, exclusions, deductibles, and aggregate limits are possible results of risk analysis, but they are not the analysis itself .
That is why B , C , and D are incorrect. Excluding risks, setting aggregate limits, or applying higher deductibles are policy design or underwriting decisions made after the broker has analyzed the risk. The question asks how the broker applies the concept of risk analysis , and the best description is the process of evaluating the business's physical and operational exposures first.
From a RIBO exam perspective, think of risk analysis as studying the business before structuring the insurance solution .
NEW QUESTION # 142
In addition to the completed and signed application for automobile insurance, which two documents are included as part of an automobile policy?
- A. Certificate of automobile insurance and the Ontario Automobile Policy (OAP) 1.
- B. Proof of insurance card and the Ontario Automobile Policy (OAP) 1.
- C. Completed and signed accident benefits checklist and proof of insurance card.
- D. Completed and signed endorsements that are attached to the application and proof of insurance card.
Answer: A
Explanation:
The Information Management competency involves the proper handling and delivery of the legal documents that constitute an insurance contract. In Ontario, an automobile insurance policy is not a single piece of paper; it is a "package" of documents that together form the legal agreement between the insurer and the insured.
According to the Insurance Act and the RIBO Level 1 Blueprint, the standard policy consists of:
* The Application (OAF 1): The information provided by the insured.
* The Policy Wordings (OAP 1): The standardized terms, conditions, and exclusions mandated by the province.
* The Certificate of Automobile Insurance: The individualized document that lists the specific coverages, limits, deductibles, and vehicles insured.
While the "pink slip" (Proof of Insurance Card) is necessary for legal operation, it is not a part of the policy contract itself; it is merely a summary evidence of its existence. Similarly, while a checklist is a best practice for Professionalism, it is not a contractual document.
A broker must ensure that the Certificate and the OAP 1 Wordings are delivered to the client promptly (within
21 days under Regulation 991). This ensures Legal and Regulatory Compliance and provides the client with the full text of their rights and obligations. The RIBO Competency Profile emphasizes that a broker must be able to explain the significance of these documents to the client, specifically how the Certificate "activates" the standard OAP 1 wordings by showing the specific premiums paid for each section.
NEW QUESTION # 143
An individual with a bad driving record comes to your office for automobile insurance. You give them a premium quotation. They cannot pay you right away but demands cover immediately. What are you obligated to do?
- A. You should report this type of situation to RIBO for guidance.
- B. You are obliged to provide coverage for 21 days.
- C. You must provide an application for completion and forward it to an insurer.
- D. You must provide coverage. If you wish to cancel it subsequently for non-payment of premium, you must first apply to the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario (FSRA. for permission to do so.
Answer: C
Explanation:
The correct answer is C . In Ontario, a broker or agent is not automatically required to bind coverage immediately just because an applicant demands it, especially where payment has not been made. What the law does require is that the applicant be given access to the application process. Under the Compulsory Automobile Insurance Act , an agent must provide an application for automobile insurance to an Ontario vehicle owner or lessee and deal with it through the insurer process. The official Ontario statute search result specifically states that an agent shall provide an application for automobile insurance .
This fits with FSRA's consumer guidance, which says Ontario consumers have the right to purchase auto insurance coverage , but they also have responsibilities to pay their premium in a timely fashion and complete forms promptly . That means the applicant has a right to apply, but not a right to force immediate coverage without satisfying underwriting and payment requirements.
So A and B are incorrect because there is no rule requiring a broker to grant temporary coverage for 21 days or to bind first and worry about cancellation later. D is unnecessary. The broker's obligation is to take the application properly and forward it to an insurer , not to invent interim coverage.
NEW QUESTION # 144
Amir, a client, phones the Broker to advise that his insured vehicle is being repaired in a garage. Amir has just signed an agreement for a rental car. Under O.A.P. 1, where would the coverage for his rental vehicle be found?
- A. Ontario Policy Change Form (OPCF) 27 Legal Liability for Non Owned Automobiles.
- B. Newly Acquired Automobile.
- C. Ontario Policy Change Form (OPCF) 20 Coverage for Transportation Replacement.
- D. Temporary Substitute Automobile.
Answer: D
Explanation:
This scenario tests the broker's understanding of the OAP 1 Section 2: What Automobiles Are Covered. When an insured's primary vehicle is "withdrawn from normal use" because of its breakdown, repair, servicing, loss, or destruction, the policy provides a specific definition for the replacement vehicle: a Temporary Substitute Automobile (TSA).
It is crucial for a broker to distinguish between the vehicle definition and the endorsements:
* TSA (Section 2.2.2): This is thestatusof the rental car. The OAP 1 automatically extends the insured's own Liability, Accident Benefits, and Uninsured Automobile coverage to a TSA. If the insured has Collision/Comprehensive on their own car, those coveragesalsoextend to the TSA under Section 7.
* OPCF 20 (D): This is the endorsement thatpaysfor the cost of the rental (e.g., $50/day). It does not
"provide the coverage" for the vehicle itself, but rather the reimbursement for the expense.
* OPCF 27 (C): This covers the insured's legal liability for damage to a non-owned car they are driving, but it is typically used when the primary car isstill in use(e.g., on vacation). When the car is in the shop, the TSA provision is the primary mechanism.
Under the RIBO Level 1 Blueprint, a broker must accurately advise Amir that because his car is being repaired, the rental is a TSA. This means his own policy effectively "wraps around" the rental car. This Consulting and Advising prevents the client from buying unnecessary insurance from the rental agency, while ensuring they understand their deductible still applies. This demonstrates the Critical and Analytical Thinking needed to navigate the OAP 1's definitions.
NEW QUESTION # 145
A Broker receives scanned client application forms and needs to save them for future reference while working through several urgent quote requests.
- A. Rename the files using an anonymous ID and store them in a shared network folder with password restrictions.
- B. Store the documents on an unencrypted USB drive kept in the Broker's locked desk drawer to access when needed.
- C. Save the documents to the brokerage's approved encrypted cloud storage using the required file naming convention and access controls.
- D. Print the documents, delete the email and place the documents in a locked filing cabinet to access when needed.
Answer: C
Explanation:
The correct answer is D because scanned client application forms contain personal information and must be stored using the brokerage's approved secure systems , with proper encryption, naming standards, and access controls . This is the best option from a RIBO information-management and privacy-compliance perspective.
The uploaded PIPEDA guidance says organizations must protect personal information against loss, theft, and unauthorized access, and should use safeguards such as passwords, encryption, limiting access, and secure computer systems . It also stresses that organizations should know where personal information is kept , how it is secured, and who has access to it.
A is not appropriate because an unencrypted USB drive presents a high risk of loss or unauthorized access, even if it is kept in a locked drawer. B uses a physical safeguard, but it is weaker than the brokerage's approved secure digital process and is impractical for ongoing workflow and audit control. C is better than A or B, but a shared folder is still not the best answer unless it is specifically the brokerage's approved secure repository; simply renaming files and adding password restrictions is not enough on its own.
From a RIBO perspective, brokers must follow approved retention, privacy, and documentation procedures- not ad hoc storage shortcuts-especially when handling sensitive client data.
NEW QUESTION # 146
......
IIC RIBO-Level-1 Exam Syllabus Topics:
| Topic | Details |
|---|---|
| Topic 1 |
|
| Topic 2 |
|
| Topic 3 |
|
| Topic 4 |
|
| Topic 5 |
|
IIC RIBO-Level-1 Test Engine PDF - All Free Dumps: https://www.dumpexam.com/RIBO-Level-1-valid-torrent.html
Get New RIBO-Level-1 Certification – Valid Exam Dumps Questions: https://drive.google.com/open?id=15R0mtoX42EUjzhyoFaFmraSlc6uwlg5i
